Weather Updates

Boys basketball: Larkin trio earns All-UEC River honors

Larkin's Kendale McCullum puts up shot front Elgin's Arie Williams earlier this season. Both players were named All-Upstate Eight River

Larkin's Kendale McCullum puts up a shot in front of Elgin's Arie Williams earlier this season. Both players were named to the All-Upstate Eight River team. | Michael R. Schmidt ~ For Sun-Times Media

storyidforme: 45248191
tmspicid: 16295862
fileheaderid: 7323548

Updated: March 27, 2013 6:19AM

Larkin was well represented on the All-Upstate Eight River team, which was announced at last Friday’s crossover championship game between the Royals and Neuqua Valley in Naperville.

Senior guard Quantice Hunter headlined a group of three players from Larkin’s UEC River championship team to earn all-conference honors. This is Hunter’s second all-conference selection, and this year he was joined by a pair of teammates as senior guard Quentin Ruff and junior Kendale McCullum also received the honor.

Elgin senior guard Arie Williams made his third appearance on the all-conference team, this time with the added recognition of UEC River Most Valuable Player. Williams averaged 22.8 points during the regular season.

St. Charles North senior Quinten Payne is another returning member of the All-UEC River team. St. Charles East junior Dom Adduci and Streamwood senior Zack Harris both landed all-conference honors for the first time.

Geneva sophomore Nate Navigato and Batavia’s Micah Coffey round out the All-UEC River team.

Whitaker earns All-UEC Valley honors

Bartlett senior Lance Whitaker is back on the All-UEC Valley team for the second time. Whitaker also earned the recognition as a sophomore before sitting out his entire junior season while recovering from knee surgery.

Upstate Eight Valley champion Neuqua Valley had a pair of players earn all-conference honors, with senior guard Jabari Sandifer landing UEC Valley MVP recognition. Senior Pat Kenny was the Wildcats’ other representative.

Waubonsie Valley seniors Jared Brownridge and Bryan Jefferson are both back on the All-UEC Valley team for the second straight year. Metea Valley also had a pair of honorees in Trayvond Taylor and Sean Davis.

East Aurora’s Jonathan Villezcas and Lake Park’s Jake Ktsanes round out the All-UEC Valley team.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.