Weather Updates

ECC trustees interview candidates to fill Dalton’s seat

Updated: December 11, 2012 12:28PM

ELGIN — Elgin Community College District 509 trustees likely will appoint a familiar face to fill John Dalton’s seat through the April elections at their December meeting on Tuesday.

That’s because the six candidates interviewed by trustees Saturday for that appointment all are prominent residents and candidates for previous offices within the community college district, according to the college.

Those candidates include Elgin Planning and Development Commission Chair Robert Siljestrom, Rise Jones of Elgin youth development group Hamilton Wings and Jo Ann Armenta of LULAC, according to the college.

They also include Nadia BlancDaley, who just last month lost the race for the 14th District seat on the Kane County Board, and Donald Waters, who had been nominated in 2003 to replace the late Marie Yearman on the Elgin City Council. And they include Patrick Keane, who was eliminated from the ballot for a seat on the South Elgin Village Board in 2009 after he failed to pay three months of water bills.

Trustees will vote at the start of Tuesday night’s meeting to appoint one of those candidates, according to that meeting agenda.

All had submitted their names for consideration to fill the next few months of Dalton’s term, before trustees elected in April are seated May 7, according to the college. Dalton stepped down from the board on Dec. 3 after winning the race for Kane County Circuit Court judge of the Second Subcircuit last month.

The last four years of his term will be up for election in April, along with the seats of Trustee Clare Ollayos and President Robert McBride, both six-year terms. Candidates can turn in petitions for those seats starting Monday, Dec. 17.

Another trustee, Bob Getz, lost his race for the 22nd District seat on the Kane County Board by just 13 votes in the November elections. A demonstration recount in that race is scheduled Wednesday, the Kane County Clerk’s Office has said.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.