Weather Updates

New leadership takes over in Kane County

Kane County Board Chairman Chris Lauzen

Kane County Board Chairman Chris Lauzen

storyidforme: 41077267
tmspicid: 450322
fileheaderid: 304656

Updated: January 5, 2013 6:17AM

GENEVA — A brand new Kane County Board and a handful of elected officials began new terms on Monday.

They took office with a swearing-in ceremony in the County Board room at the Kane County Government Center, conducted by Chief Judge Judith Brawka.

Former State Sen. Chris Lauzen of Aurora took the helm as the new chairman of the County Board, which has shrunk from 26 seats to 24 because of redistricting, and includes eight new members from the November election, when all of the board seats were up for a vote.

“Many of us here today are brand new, and we have a lot to learn,” Lauzen said.

County Board members will receive their committee assignments before the next full board meeting, scheduled for Dec. 13, Lauzen said.

The new board is composed of 14 Republicans and 10 Democrats.

Auditor Terry Hunt, Recorder Sandy Wegman, Circuit Clerk Tom Hartwell, Regional Superintendent of Schools Patricia Dal Santo, and Lauzen were all sworn in after the board members took their oath.

Rob Russell also took over as the new county coroner. He was scheduled to take the oath of office in a ceremony Monday afternoon conducted by Justice Ann B. Jorgensen of the Illinois Appellate Court, Second District.

Monday also marked the beginning to the new 16th Judicial Circuit, which consists of only Kane County. DeKalb and Kendall counties were split off from the 16th to form the new 23rd Judicial Circuit.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.