Weather Updates

Hampshire Township holds open house to celebrate new facility

A view Hampshire Township’s new facility 170 Mill Avenue Hampshire. | Denise Moran ~ For Sun-Times Media

A view of Hampshire Township’s new facility at 170 Mill Avenue in Hampshire. | Denise Moran ~ For Sun-Times Media

storyidforme: 39903774
tmspicid: 14727411
fileheaderid: 6718264

Updated: December 12, 2012 6:53AM

HAMPSHIRE — An open house on Saturday afternoon allowed area residents the chance to view the new $525,000 Hampshire Township administration building at 170 Mill Avenue.

“This is a wonderful day,” said Township Clerk Jody Remakel. “We’ve been planning for this day for the past 10 years. Through hard work and fiscal responsibility, we were able to make this happen without borrowing funds. Township Trustee Carl Brooks and Highway Commissioner Stan Walker really made this happen for us.”

According to Remakel, the new 2,992-square-foot building includes a meeting room with a small kitchen that can seat up to 100 people. The meeting room can be rented by area residents and groups for meetings and get-togethers.

The facility also includes two handicapped-accessible washrooms, a storage room, and offices for Township Assessor Rose Letheby and Township Supervisor Darwin Conro.

Letheby has served as the assessor for the past 18 years. Conro has been the supervisor for 24 years.

“This building has been designed and built for the community,” said Letheby. “The multi-purpose room has been needed for many years.”

“I am really pleased with the way the building turned out,” said Conro.

“It’s a beautiful building,” agreed Brooks. “It’s well deserved for the community.”

The site where the new building now sits originally had two homes that were torn down. In April of 2012, the Hampshire village board approved rezoning the site from residential to business.

Ground was broken on May 31. The facility was designed by Linden Group Architects, Orland Park, and built by Schramm Construction Corporation, St. Charles. Current township trustees are: Brooks, Steve Gustafson, Evelyn Bicknese, and Roger Paddock.

Township meetings are normally held at 7 p.m. on the second Tuesday of the month. The public is welcome to attend.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.