Weather Updates

Winners emerge in all Kane County Board races

Updated: January 15, 2013 7:20PM

All votes have been tallied for the 24 seats on the Kane County Board.

Republican Mark Davoust of St. Charles defeated Democrat Nadia Blanc Daley of South Elgin with 67.6 percent of the vote in District 14, which includes South Elgin and stretches down into St. Charles.

The race between Republican Michael Kenyon of South Elgin and Democrat Jennifer Barconi of South Elgin was much closer, with Kenyon emerging the winner with 52.7 percent of the vote. That district includes Elgin, South Elgin and Bartlett. Several winners have emerged in the races for 24 seats on the Kane County Board.

In District 17 in Elgin, incumbent Democrat Deborah Allan of Elgin kept her seat, finishing over Republican Jeffrey Meyer of Elgin with 66 percent of the vote.

Democrat Kerri Branson of North Aurora, a former actress and Playboy model, had grabbed the most headlines in District 18. But Republican Drew Frasz of Elburn emerged early as the winner in that race with 64.9 percent of the vote, all precincts reporting.

That district includes North Aurora, Elburn, Kaneville and Maple Park.

In District 19, which includes Elgin and Gilberts, the race was close throughout the night. Republican Kurt Kojzarek of Elgin ended the night with 56.9 percent of the vote over Democrat Hidayat Khan of Elgin.

In District 20 in Elgin, Democrat Cristina Castro of Elgin beat Republican Henoch Fuentes of Elgin with 69.3 percent of the vote.

Republican Rebecca Gillam of West Dundee bested Democrat Darren Parochelli of West Dundee with 60.7 percent in District 21, West Dundee, Gilberts and Sleepy Hollow.

District 22 in the western part of Elgin was a nail-biter: Republican Douglas Scheflow of Elgin just squeaked past Democrat Bob Getz of Elgin with 50.1 percent of the vote.

The race in District 23 also was close: Republican Maggie Auger of Algonquin had 54.7 percent of the vote, defeating Democrat Kevin Smith of Carpentersville.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.