Weather Updates

Girl Scouts of N. Illinois elect board, honor volunteers

Updated: July 30, 2013 7:38AM

Girl Scouts of Northern Illinois recently elected new members to the council’s Board of Directors and Board Development Committee.

Lisa Normoyle of Rockford was elected as board chair. Other officers elected included Scott F. McCleary of Aurora as first vice chair; Bobbie Riley of Batavia as second vice chair; Donna Bausman of Mount Carroll as secretary; and Robert Quimby of Rockton as treasurer.

GSNI’s Board of Directors-at-Large for a two-year term now include Dr. Annette Acevedo of Elgin, Mark M. Ackerman of Pecatonica, Theresa Barreiro of Aurora, Rosario DeLeon of Aurora, Christin Giedd of Dixon, Hon. Gwyn Gulley of Machesney Park, Dr. Sylvia Hood-Washington of Winfield, Michael T. Peddle of DeKalb, Jean Marie Saidler of Crystal Lake and Patricia Tuner of Elgin. Members of the Board Development Committee include Susan Angell-Case of Elgin, John Kovanda of Batavia, and Archie Needham of Aurora.

Girl Scouts elected as Board Appointed Associate Directors are Kayla Colwell of Franklin Grove, Lindsay Schwartz of Kildeer and Stefany Veldhuizen of Sycamore.

Girl Scouts of Northern Illinois also recently honored volunteers with awards for service to the organization.

The Girl Scout Appreciation Pin is awarded to volunteers actively giving outstanding service to at least one geographic area in the council. The 2013 Appreciation Pin recipients are Donna Bausmann of Mount Carroll, Marg Blum of Freeport, Amy Goze of Crystal Lake, Karen Grant of Spring Grove, Annette Happ of Stockton, Liza Johnson of Aurora, Terry Lynch-Knox of Wonder Lake, Bobbie Riley of Batavia, Jean Marie Saidler of Crystal Lake and Amy Suarez of Sterling.

The Girl Scout Honor Pin recognizes volunteers actively giving outstanding service in two or more geographic areas in the council. The 2013 Honor Pin recipients are Mary Chris Arnesen of Crystal Lake, Margaret Backman Boettjer of Spring Grove, Cathy Johnston of Crystal Lake, Anna Kotvan of St. Charles, Karin Podolski of Chana, Kate Ramsay of Pearl City, Diane Saber of Kildeer and Betty Szwansowski of Crystal Lake.

The Thanks II Badge is awarded to volunteers who have already received the Thanks Badge and are actively giving service that impacts the council or the entire Girl Scout Movement. The 2013 Thanks Badge II recipient is Chris Alsip of Shorewood.

Volunteer of Excellence Awards recognize volunteers who have contributed outstanding service, while partnering directly with girls in any pathway to implement the Girl Scout Leadership Experience. 2013 Volunteer of Excellence Award recipients in this area include Krista Kooistra of Carpentersville; and Yvonne Mundorf, Shera O’Neil and Denise Schrempf, all of Bartlett.

Girl Scouts of Northern Illinois serves more than 18,000 girls and 5,500 adult volunteers in parts or all of Boone, Carroll, Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Jo Daviess, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, Lee, McHenry, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside and Winnebago counties.

Through the Girl Scout leadership experience, girls in grades K through 12 are engaged in discovering themselves, connecting with others and taking action to make the world a better place.

For more information on how to join, volunteer, reconnect or donate to Girl Scouts of Northern Illinois, visit or call 1-800-242-5591.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.