Weather Updates

Familiar faces among first to file in school board races

storyidforme: 41782477
tmspicid: 14263303
fileheaderid: 6530494

Updated: January 19, 2013 6:12AM

ELGIN — Monday was the first day candidates for boards in Elgin School District U46, Community Unit School District 300 and Elgin Community College could file petitions to run for election in April.

And in U46, the second-largest district in the state, three candidates were waiting to turn in their candidate packets and nominating petition forms when the district’s administrative offices opened at 7:30 a.m. that day.

Those three candidates were Andrew Giggey of Streamwood and Veronica Noland of Elgin, who has been involved with the district through its first Hispanic Parents Leadership Institute, the Parent-Teacher Organization at Channing Elementary School in Elgin and several Citizens Advisory Council subcommittees. Noland also is the wife of state Sen. Michael Noland, D-Elgin.

They also included Gary Percy of Elgin, the former vice president of the U46 Citizens Advisory Council, who narrowly lost a seat on the U46 Board of Education in the last round of elections.

Candidates will be listed on the ballot in the order they file their petitions. That means a lottery will be held at 9 a.m. Jan. 2, to determine in which order Giggey, Noland and Percy will appear, according to U46.

Fourth on the ballot will be Frank Napolitano of Bartlett, who turned in his petition later this morning, the district said. Napolitano is a village board member in Bartlett and chair of the Illinois Center Right Coalition, which describes itself as “pro-school choice” and “pro-America,” among other things, on its website.

Three seats on the seven-member board are up for election, including those now held by incumbents Joyce Fountain and Dale Spencer, as well as board President Donna Smith, according to the district website. All are four-year terms, it said.


In Elgin Community College District 509, voters will get to weigh in on the board of trustees’ choice to replace John Dalton, who stepped down earlier this month after winning the race for Kane County Circuit Court judge of the Second Subcircuit in November.

Trustees last week appointed Risé Jones of Elgin to fill the next few months of Dalton’s term, before candidates elected in April are seated May 7.

Jones and two others were first to file their petitions for two six-year terms up for election. That includes Trustee Clare Ollayos’ and board President Robert McBride’s seats.

Ollayos and Elias Palacios of St. Charles also filed petitions for those two seats, according to the community college. The lottery to determine their order on the ballot will be at 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 26, it said.

Two more candidates filed later for the remaining four years of Dalton’s term, including Nadia BlancDaley of South Elgin and Art Sauceda of Bartlett. BlancDaley also had been interviewed and considered by the board alongside Jones to fill that seat through the spring.

Their placement on the ballot also will be decided in the Dec. 26 lottery.


And in District 300, board President Anne Miller and board member David Alessio, both of Algonquin, filed their petitions early. So did Kathleen Burley of Algonquin, a parent in the Carpentersville-area school district who played an active role last year in its battle against the extension of the economic development area around the Sears Centre Arena in Hoffman Estates.

District officials did not answer Monday whether all three had filed at the same time and when a lottery might be held to determine their order on the ballot.

Miller, Alessio and board member Karen Roeckner’s seats all are up for election this spring, according to the district website. All are four-year seats, it said.

Illinois Gov. Pat Quinn signed Senate Bill 3338 earlier this month to extend the filing period for all board candidates past Christmas Eve to 5 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 26.

All candidates then have through Jan. 2 to withdraw their names from the ballots. Community members also must file any objections to a candidate’s nominating papers by that day.

The election is April 9.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.