Weather Updates

ECC appoints replacement for Dalton

Updated: January 13, 2013 11:17AM

ELGIN — Elgin Community College District 509 trustees appointed Rise Jones Tuesday to fill John Dalton’s seat through the April elections.

Trustees voted at the start of their December meeting Tuesday night meeting to appoint Jones from among one six candidates, the first time in a decade the board has had to appoint a new trustee.

That last happened in 2002, when David Bear was named to the board after the resignation of Brian Husted.

“It’s such an honor to be elected and to serve in this capacity for he next five months,” Jones said.

“I’ve always loved and admired Elgin Community College and look forward to serving the community and serving Elgin Community College in its responsibility and accountability to promoting and supporting improved lives through education.”

Jones is a partner/evaluator at Evaluation Solutions Inc. of Elgin, which has contracts with Elgin School District U46 and Community Counseling Centers of Chicago and has worked in the past with Columbia College and Northeastern Illinois University, according to the community college. She also co-founder of Hamilton Wings, which provides arts and enrichment programs to diverse and economically- or socially-disadvantaged children ages 6 to 17.

She has a doctorate in public policy analysis from the University of Illinois in Chicago and a master of science degree in public management and policy from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, the college said. She earned her bachelor of science degree in psychology from the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign, it said.

ECC said candidates for Dalton’s seat included Elgin Planning and Development Commission Chair Robert Siljestrom and Jo Ann Armenta, who in the past had been appointed to the Elgin Human Relations Commission and elected Gail Borden Public Library trustee.

They also had included Nadia BlancDaley, who just last month lost the race for the 14th District seat on the Kane County Board; Donald Waters, who had been nominated in 2003 to replace the late Marie Yearman on the Elgin City Council; and Patrick Keane.

Board President Robert McBride called all the candidates the board had interviewed at a special meeting “outstanding.” All submitted their names for consideration to fill the next few months of Dalton’s term, before trustees elected April 9 are seated May 7. Dalton stepped down Dec. 3 after winning the Nov. 6 race for Kane County Circuit Court judge of the Second Subcircuit.

The last four years of his term will be up in April; Jones has said she will run to keep her seat for the remainder of that term. Also up are the seats of Trustee Clare Ollayos and President Robert McBride, both six-year terms. Candidates can turn in petitions for those seats starting Monday.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.